National Flattrack Championship Round 2

National Flattrack Championship Round 2 Rye House

Team Suzuki rider Tim Neave became the first rider to lower the colours of Aidan Collins for two years by taking the win at round two of the 2013 flattrack series at Rye House.  Neave, one of the Championship favourites who finished second at King’s Lynn, was back to his best at the Hoddesdon oval to the tie lead of the Championship.  Three consecutive top three finishes in the heats saw him onto the front row of the grid for the final, and once he broke clear of Collins on the exit of turn two, he never looked back.

It hadn’t been plain sailing in the heats for the eventual meeting winner: Darren Trapmore got the better of him in the first round of heats for the day, and Alan Birtwistle repeated the feat in round two.  Birtwistle and Trapmore, with two wins apiece and just six dropped points between them, moved through comfortably to the day’s grand final with first selection of start positions.  Birtwistle, who tailed off in King’s Lynn after a stunning start to the opening round, was once again on the pace: it seems only a matter of time before he wins his first career event.  But Trapmore lost several positions in the early stages of the final and had to settle with the Deus rider of the day award for his heat round efforts.

Defending Champion Aidan Collins almost missed out himself, taking just a single race win in the heat stages before squeezing through to the third place he needed in his final outing to make the top four and the front row of the grid.  But Collins, left to the inside line, made a fast enough run to the first turn to initially baulk his opponents, before Neave took to the banking around bends one and two and swept away for the victory.

The youngster’s success means he and Aidan Collins are level in pursuit of the Championship after the opening two rounds, with racing still to come at the prestigious Norfolk Arena and Tir Prince raceway in the remaining four events.

In the MiniBike class, Adam Shipp recovered from a second ride fall to take the win after an otherwise faultless display.  But a crash for reigning junior champion Oliver Brindley stopped him from enjoying more success in the junior class, Aaron Silvester instead taking home the silverware.

Graham Unwin took the Ace CafĂ© rider of the day award after producing a series of entertaining displays in the heat stages of the rookie class, but missed out on a podium finish with Tom Wright taking the chequered flag and the lead of the championship.  Vince Hurst extended his lead in the restricted class with a second consecutive victory. Tim Neave capped his day with a double victory overtaking Neil Martin for a great win in the Thunderbike class. Neil Martin held on for a second place in front of his team mate Dave Chadbun.

The action moves back to Norfolk on Saturday June 8th for  Round 3 Dirt Quake.

[Alex Raby]

Full results to follow

No comments:

Post a Comment