Boastie Blasts to Victory

DTRA National Flattrack Championships Round 3 Dirtquake.

Round 3 saw a mix of traditional American flattrack racing and a crazy selection of machinery not normally seen racing on the dirt. Over 100 riders took part in a day long celebration of oval racing at the Norfolk Arena. Guest rider Charley Boorman took on riders who had travelled from all over Europe and the USA to race whatever bikes they could get their hands on and claim glory in the offbeat Dirtquake classes.
In the conventional flattrack racing team Suzuki rider Peter Boast fought hard to take a well deserved victory in the Pro Final.  Boasty was chased down by the Honda’s of Aiden Collins and Alan Birtwistle who were pushing hard whilst fighting each other for the 2nd place spot. It was current series leader Collins who eventually took the second place after a tense twelve laps under the flood lights.

The Restricted Class win went to birthday Boy Aaron Silvester who celebrated his 16th birthday in style with superb performances in both the heats and the grand final. Newcomer Ross Herrod took his first podium with a well deserved 2nd place ahead of Anthony Brown. Current series leader Vince Hurst had to settle for 5th place in front of Gary Inman.

The 600cc and above Thunderbike Class had its biggest ever entry. It was eighteen year old Tim Neave who took his second win of the season, in front of guest rider from Colorado, USA Travis Newbold. Travis had to work hard to keep his 750 Truimph in front of last year’s series winner Neil Martin who had to settle for the 3rd spot on the podium.

French rider Dimitri Coste looked like he had the Rookie Class all sewn up with 3 heat wins to qualify first for the A final, but it was the current series front runners who managed to get the better of him as the final progressed. Tom Lundstrom took the win after only his second meeting with the DTRA followed home by Tom Wright and Andrew Collison.
In the Youth Classes Oliver Brindley took his second Senior Class win of the season to stretch his lead in the overall standings.  Ben Neave took top spot in the Inter class ahead of flying Skye Adams. In the Junior Class it was Chad Witzfield who took top honors ahead of Bailey Fellows.
The Deus ex Machina Dash for cash saw the pros line up in reverse order of qualifying. Series leader Collins made it count with a great victory over Alan Birtwistle with George Pickering taking a well deserved 3rd place.

Full Results to follow
The action now moves onto the ½ mile horse trotting track of Tir Prince in North Wales on Friday the 28th of June.

1 comment: